About us

Our Mission

The mission of Kids’ Chance of Georgia, Inc. is to provide educational scholarships to the children of Georgia workers who have been seriously or fatally injured. Kids’ Chance of Georgia, Inc. is an IRS approved 501(c) (3) non-profit charity that has helped more than 300 students since its beginning. For academic year 2017-2018, fifty students are being assisted with approximately $200,000 in scholarship funding.

Our Mission is supported by donations, with all funds raised supporting children of Georgia workers. Since 1988, Kids’ Chance of Georgia has raised nearly $6 million and established memorial scholarships and endowment funds. Kids’ Chance of Georgia, Inc. has received numerous recognitions and is the first Kids’ Chance charity established in the country. It is the model for sister charities in 38 other states as well as the national organization, Kids' Chance of America.

Our History

Robert Clyatt, a workers’ compensation attorney from Valdosta, Georgia, founded the first Kids’ Chance organization in 1988. Through his work, he had witnessed the life-shattering impact that a serious workplace injury had on the children those injured, who were now having to fund their own education.

With the assistance of the Workers’ Compensation Section of the Georgia Bar, Bob Clyatt incorporated Kids’ Chance of Georgia and began raising money to fund educational scholarships.

Kids’ Chance of Georgia began reaching out to other states and assisted them in establishing their own Kids’ Chance organizations. Thirty-nine states have organized Kids’ Chance programs that are actively providing need-based scholarships to the families of seriously injured workers, and new organizations are being formed each year.

Our Board of Directors

 

Robert M. Clyatt, Esq.
Robert M.Clyatt, PC                                               
Founder & Chairman of the Board

main@clyattlaw.com

Mike Coan

Director, Georgia Subsequent Injury Trust Fund

President

mcoan@sitf.ga.gov

Connie Chandler
United Parcel Service
President

conniechandler@ups.com

John Fevier
Director of Facilities Management, Waffle House, Inc.
Secretary/Treasurer

johnfervier@wafflehouse.com

Hon. Carolyn Hall
Chairman, Georgia Board of Workers' (Retired)
Director

qcchall@bellsouth.net

Ann Baird Bishop
Sponsler, Bishop, Koven & Hamner, PA
Director

abishop@sponslerbishop.com

Lisa Capicik
Brasfield & Gorrie
Director

LCapicik@BrasfieldGorrie.com

Polly F. Hale
Builders Insurance Group
Director

phale@bldrs.com

Michelle Lutz Hays
Comprehensive Care Group
Director

michelle@compcaregroup.net

Shirley Hinton
National DCP, LLC
Director

shirley.hinton@natdcp.com

Hon. Jeffrey Kight
Superior Court of Georgia, First District
Director

jhkight@gmail.com

Joseph Leman, Esq.
Leman Law Firm, PC
Director

lemancomp@gmail.com

Hon. Frank R. McKay
Georgia Board of Workers' Compensation
Director

mckayf@sbwc.ga.gov

Lisa Wade, Esq.
Swift, Currie, McGhee & Hiers, LLP
Director

lisa.wade@swiftcurrie.com

John Quinn
Communications Workers of America, AFL-CIO
Director

jquinn@cwa-union.org

Craig Weil
Center for Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine
Director

craigweil@mac.com

Management

Lynda Snyder Smith
Executive Director

lyndasmith@kidschancega.org

Lise Weaver
Financial & General Operations Coordinator

liseweaver@kidschancega.org